After Facebook

Why do I want 400 friends in Facebook and hundreds of followers on Twitter?

Facebook wall is “cluttered” with messages that make less sense every passing day. My friends’ list contains 90% acquaintances and maybe 10% friends. The probability of me reading the content on my wall is dependent on the “quality” of the content…not the person. So, its fair to say that the quality of content is more important that the person himself/herself.

Now the question is: If content-quality is more important…then why can’t I see feed from others who are not in my “friends list” but who are still posting good quality material on Facebook. I dont care where that content comes from as long as it “connects” with me. So… what I want is the “intelligent” content that “knows” what I like.

Next question: How do we do that?

Facebook does not do that and will not do that because it goes against its core principle. Maybe I should be able to “follow” a content..or be friends with the content..rather than the person. Maybe a new company/product is required that can understand my profile and stream relevant content to me. I should have the ability to block each piece of content (or rate it). My feedback will make the system smarter. It is a circular loop.

And yes…this product should not start collecting friends. Leave that task to Facebook.

Google…are you listening?

ciao~

About Sandeep Chauhan
Strategy/Marketing professional with interest in analyzing growth opportunities and trends.

Leave a Reply

